Interview: Manor Freaks

Français English

Logo

January 2003

MANOR FREAKS is a new psychobilly© band from France. Their music is really close to the DEMENTED ARE GO, and, according to Yam, who realised this interview, they should have a great future!

 

1/ Who are the membres?

Since summer 2001, the MANOR FREAKS are:

Manor Freaks
  • VINCE: Slap
  • GREG: vox
  • TONY: drums
  • STEF: guitar.

2/ Where does the name come from?

It comes as far as the Infini!
Take 4 madmen, lock them with their instruments in a so macabre manor, wait a little bit ... and you get some MANOR FREAKS. Man or freaks ? That is the question !

3/ How long does the band exist?

At the very beginning, there were the R.I.P.'s, a band from the west of Paris. At this time, the band was composed by William to the guitar, Fanfan to the drums, and already Vince to the slap. I personnaly joined the band in 1998 to sing. 3 years of concerts and 2 members changes later, the band has changed its name to become The Manor Freaks

Manor Freaks

4/ What are the musical influences of each one of you?

Greg : For my part, it goes from Blues to Punk, including Country music, Rockab, Psycho and Gospel. I also like a lot supermarket music, it relaxes me when I'm picking up some beers. So I have the time to choose without any stress.

Stef : I would say that my personal musical reperes are much more extended ... It goes from rockab' to crust-metal, including trash, punk, death-metal... But I don't think you could found all this musics in MANOR FREAKS : the band is more a symbios between the styles that the membres of the band have in commun...

Vince : Hard rock, punk, psycho, surf, garage, R'n'R, underground rock, blues. And also Tony, Steph et Greg. They influence me quiet a lot.

Tony : It's all the same than my acolyts... with Motorhead more, and also Hervé Vilard.

<

5/ Have you got a lot of dates? What are the next projects of the band?

We're playing regulary, about 2 or 3 dates per month. But we're ready to play more, if it's possible, because Steph also play with LYSTERIA, and Tony with KILLING TOMATOES.
We think we're going to record our album in 2003, just the time to polish our last songs, and to test them on the stage.

6/ How do you find the psychobilly© scene, in France?

If it's well indicated, I find it easily!
Seriously, I think that unfortunaly, the psychobilly© scene hasn't been smaller than nowadays. But it has never been very important here, in comparaison with other north European countries, where most of big festivals are.

Manor Freaks

7/ Could you describe your own musical style?

Psychos say we're playing Punk, and Punks say we're playing Psycho. I guess what we do is between the both, with all our influences. Anyway, we don't care about the style of our songs, we write and play as it comes, the raw-way, without any question. Those who absolutely need to put a musical etiquette on us can do it, we don't care about that.

8/ What are your lyrics about ?

There's a song where I talk about the Americans (they are getting on my nerves so much, that's it). But the other songs are about very important subjects, like Monsters, Sex, extra-terrestrials ... I don't want to mix music and politic, a live is not a political meeting, there a time for everything. We've got ideas, when we don't play Rock'n'Roll. We often have very serious discussions, for exemple, when we wander who's gonna get the beers ... and other philosophical considerations in the same way.

9/ What do you think about the intolerance between psychos and punks?

It sounds like a typical frenchy war. Happily, it doesn't to exist in the other countries. I personaly think that it shouldn't be : this 2 movements are very close on a lot of points. In fact, we're not really concerned. Let the dum be dummy, but open your eyes, they're everywhere!

Manor freaks

10) Ask yourself an indiscrete question, and answer to it:

Why does the "Cow-Who-Laugh"* laugh?
Which hair grease do you use?
We use the same hair grease than the "Cow-Who-Laugh". If you see her, ask her directly, and tell her to give me back my ear-rings!

* NDT: COW-WHO LAUGH (VACHE-QUI-RIT) is the name of a famous cheese for children.

"MANOR FREAKS" BIG CONTEST

Come and see us in Live, and win the right to ask your own indiscrete Question!!!

[ Go Psycho | © 1999 - 2013 | Accueil | Administration | Haut de Page ]

Interview: Manor Freaks

Français English

Logo

Janvier 2003

MANOR FREAKS est un nouveau groupe de la scène française. Leur musique est très proche de celle des DEMENTED ARE GO, et Yam, qui a réalisée cette interview, leur prédit un grand avenir!

 

1/ Qui sont les membres?

Depuis l'été 2001, les MANOR FREAKS se composent de:

Manor Freaks
  • VINCE à la Slap
  • GREG au chant
  • TONY à la batterie
  • STEF à la guitare.

2/ D'ou vient le nom?

D'aussi loin que l'infini!
Prenez 4 déglingos, enfermez les avec des instruments dans un manoir bien macabre, laissez agir quelque temps, vous obtenez des MANOR FREAKS. Man or freaks? That is the question!

3/ Depuis combien de temps le groupe existe-t-il?

En fait, tout commence avec la formation des R.I.P.'s dans l'ouest parisien. Le groupe etait alors composé de William à la gratte, Fanfan à la batt, et deja Vince à la slap. Pour ma part je rejoins le groupe en 1998 pour assurer le chant. Apres 3 ans de concerts et 2 changements de formation, le groupe change de nom pour devenir The Manor Freaks

Manor Freaks

4/ Quelles sont les influences musicales de chacun?

Greg : En ce qui me concerne, cela va du blues au punk, en passant par la country, le rockab', le psycho ou le gospel. J'aime aussi beaucoup la musique de supermarché, surtout au rayon bieres, ca laisse le temps de choisir sans stresser.

Stef : De mon coté, je dirais que mes repères musicaux sont beaucoup plus étendus... Ca irait du rockab' au crust-metal, en passant par le trash, punk, death-metal... Mais je ne pense pas que cela transparaisse dans MANOR FREAKS, le groupe etant plutot une symbiose des styles qu'on a en commun entre membres du groupe...

Vince : Hard rock, punk, psycho, surf, garage, R'n'R, rock alternatif, blues. Et aussi Tony, Steph et Greg. Ils m'influencent vachement beaucoup.

Tony : Tout pareil que mes acolytes...avec Motorhead en plus, et puis Hervé Vilard

5/ Avez vous beaucoup de dates, qu'en est-il des projets du groupes?

On tourne assez regulierement à raison de 2 à 3 dates par mois en moyenne. On est toujours pret à tourner d'avantage dans la mesure du possible, sachant que Steph joue aussi avec LYSTERIA, et Tony avec KILLING TOMATOES. Sinon on pense enregistrer l'album courant 2003, le temps de fignoler les dernieres compos et de les roder sur scene.

6/ Comment trouvez vous la scene psycho en france?

Si c'est bien indiqué, assez facilement.
Plus serieusement, je pense que malheureusement, la scène psycho est de plus en plus discrète bien qu'elle n'ait jamais été très importante en comparaison des autres pays d'Europe du nord où ont llieu la plupart des gros festivals.

Manor Freaks

7/ Pouvez vous decrire votre style musical?

Les psychos disent qu'on fait du punk et les keupons trouvent qu'on fait du psycho, j'en deduit qu'on fait quelque chose entre les deux, en rapport avec nos influences diverses. De toute facon, on ne se prend pas la tete au niveau du style des compos, on fait ca comme ca vient, brut de decoffrage. Libre aux inconditionnels des étiquettes musicales de nous en coller une, on s'en fout.

8/ De quoi parlent vos textes?

À par un morceau où je me suis un peu laché contre les ricains (ils m'enervent mes nerfs tout plein c'est comme ca), ca traite de sujets de toute premiere importance, du genre: les monstres, le cul, les extra terrestres...Je ne suis pas pour melanger musique et politique, il ne faut pas confondre salle de concert et meeting politique, il y a un temps pour tout. Cela ne nous empeche pas d'avoir des idée dès qu'on ne fait plus de rock'n'roll. On a régulièrement des discussions hyper sérieuses pour savoir qui va chercher les bières... et autres considérations philosophiques du même style.

9/ Que pensez vous de l'intolérance entre psychos et punks?

C'est une vieille guéguerre bien de chez nous, heureusement, on ne voit pas ça à l'étranger. Pour ma part je pense que ça n'a pas lieu d'être, ce sont deux mouvements très proches sur beaucoup de points. En fait, on ne se sent pas vraiment concernés par ce probleme. Laissons aux cons le soins de se prendre la tete entre eux. Ouvrez l'oeil, ils sont partout!

Manor freaks

10) Posez vous une question indiscrete et repondez-y:

Pourquoi la vache-qui-rit, rit ?
Quelle marque de laque utilisez vous?
On utilise la même marque que la vache qui rit. Si vous la croisez, profitez en pour lui poser la question directement, et dites-lui de me rendre mes boucles d'oreilles!

GRAND JEU "MANOR FREAKS"

Venez nous voir en concert et gagnez le droit de nous poser directement votre propre question indiscrete!!!

[ Go Psycho | © 1999 - 2013 | Accueil | Administration | Haut de Page ]